Medals of Dishonour

25 Jun 2009–27 Sep 2009


Satirical and political medals from the 16th to the 20th centuries including two of US sculptor David Smith's influential Medals for Dishonor of the 1930s (from which the exhibition borrows its title) and a little-known medal by Marcel Duchamp. Also medals recently commissioned from leading contemporary artists Jake and Dinos Chapman, William Kentridge, Grayson Perry, Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, Richard Hamilton, Mona Hatoum, Ellen Gallagher, Langlands and Bell, Cornelia Parker, Michael Landy, Yun-Fei Ji, Steve Bell and Felicity Powell.

Back to top